Build up begins for Girls in Green ahead of Sweden test

Ireland starting XI against England in their EURO2025 qualifier at the Aviva Stadium in April 2024

Ireland starting XI against England in their EURO2025 qualifier at the Aviva Stadium in April 2024 Credit: Eddie Lennon (ETPhotos)

The Republic of Ireland women’s squad are gathering in Dublin ahead of their EURO 2025 double header against Sweden.

Eileen Gleeson’s side will be back playing at the Aviva Stadium this coming Friday 31st May against Sweden before travelling to take on the Olympic silver medalists in Stockholm in what will be the tenth match between the sides at senior international level.

The Ireland squad for the games excludes the injured Niamh Fahey, Heather Payne, Chloe Mustaki, Tara O'Hanlon and Jamie Finn. 

There is a first call-up for Cork City’s 19-year-old midfielder Eva Mangan.

Skipper Katie McCabe will return from Australia where she played 90 minutes in the Gunners 1-0 win over an A League Women XI in Melbourne during the week.

Megan Campbell could make her 50th international appearance during this window as she has 49 caps to her name coming into Friday’s game.

Ireland lost 1-0 away to France and had a 2-0 home defeat on Lansdowne Road against England last time out.

The top two nations in the group will all automatically qualify for the finals in Switzerland in July 2025, with a further seven places available via the play-offs.

The teams who finish third or fourth enter those play-offs.

Ireland WNT Squad
 Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Grace Moloney (London City Lionesses), Sophie Whitehouse (Lewes)
Defenders: Jessie Stapleton (West Ham United), Diane Caldwell (FC Zurich), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Caitlin Hayes (Celtic), Anna Patten (Aston Villa), Aoife Mannion (Manchester United), Megan Campbell (London City Lionesses)
Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O'Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Bristol City), Ruesha Littlejohn (London City Lionesses), Tyler Toland (Blackburn Rovers), Lily Agg (Birmingham City), Jess Ziu (West Ham United), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City), Erin McLaughlin (Peamount United), Eva Mangan (Cork City), Izzy Atkinson (Crystal Palace)
Forwards: Kyra Carusa (San Diego Wave), Leanne Kiernan (Liverpool), Emily Murphy (Wake Forest University), Abbie Larkin (Crystal Palace), Amber Barrett (Standard Liege)