I am looking for..

Please select a Team: (type and the magic happens)

Cork City

Website - http://www.corkcityfc.net

Team Profile

Nickname: City, Rebel Army

Country of Origin: Ireland

Ground: Turners Cross

Ground History


NameStart DateEnd Date
Turners Cross Feb 1996 Present
Bishopstown Oct 1992 Jan 1996
St. Colman's Park Sep 1992 Oct 1992
Turners Cross Aug 1986 May 1992
Flower Lodge Aug 1984 May 1986

Cork City History

Cork City were founded in 1984 and spent their first two seasons at Flower Lodge before a move to Turner’s Cross where they won their first silverware, lifting the League Cup in 1987/88. The Leesiders reached their first FAI Cup final the following year, losing out to Derry City after a replay. Another FAI Cup final was lost in 1991/92, this time to Bohemians but the club landed their first League title in 1992/93 after a complicated three-way play-off with Bohemians and Shelbourne.

The following season, 1993/94, saw the club make an ill-fated move to Bishopstown where, over the next two years, Damien Richardson’s team did well in the league and played Galatasaray and Slavia Prague in Europe. But the pitch was akin to a marsh and the club were forced to play in Turner’s Cross, St Colman’s Park and even in Tolka Park with the pitch unplayable.

In 1995/96 the club entered receivership and left Bishopstown. Homeless and struggling to survive, a return to Turner's Cross was negotiated and City avoided relegation with a ninth place finish. Things started to improve under manager Dave Barry and the club won their second FAI Cup in 1997/98, beating Shelbourne 1-0 in a replay at Dalymount Park. In the next two seasons City finished second in the league and Barry said goodbye in the summer of 2000.

In 2004, under Pat Dolan, City beat Malmo and NEC Nijmegen in the Intertoto Cup and a 1-1 draw with Nantes at a packed Turner’s Cross wasn’t quite enough to overturn a first-leg defeat. Dolan’s team finished second in the league that year but he departed in pre-season of 2005 to be replaced by Damien Richardson who promptly led the club to their second league title as City beat Derry in the last game of the season at Turner’s Cross in front of an estimated 12,000 crowd. A fortnight later City missed out on the double when they lost the FAI Cup final to Drogheda United.

City won the 2007 FAI Cup, beating Longford Town 1-0 at a rain-soaked RDS but off the pitch the storm clouds were brewing. Venture capital firm, Arkaga, took over ownership of the club and within a short period of time they pulled out, leaving City in examinership. In October 2008 Tom Coughlan stepped in to rescue the club but things continued to deteriorate. In 2009 Paul Doolin led City to a third place finish but the club’s finances imploded and after a protracted legal process Cork City were wound up in February 2010.

In anticipation of this City supporters had applied for their own license to join the league and under the name Cork City Foras Co-op, they competed in the 2010 First Division. In 2011 they bought back the name and history of Cork City FC and won the First Division title, returning the club to the top tier of Irish football.

League Champions: Three times
1992/93, 2005, 2017

First Division Champions: Once

FAI Cup Winners: Four times
1997/98, 2007, 2016, 2017

League Cup Winners: Three times
1987/88, 1994/95, 1998/99

Setanta Cup Winners: Once

League of Ireland Premier Division

Comp Season Standing
2018 Runner-up
2017 Winner
2016 Runner-up
2015 Runner-up
2014 Runner-up
2005 Winner
2004 Runner-up
1999-2000 Runner-up
1998-1999 Runner-up
1993-1994 Runner-up
1992-1993 Winner
1990-1991 Runner-up

League of Ireland First Division

Comp Season Standing
2011 Winner


Comp Season Standing
2018 Runner-up
2017 Winner
2016 Winner
2015 Runner-up
2005 Runner-up
1997-1998 Winner
1991-1992 Runner-up
1988-1989 Runner-up

League Cup

Comp Season Standing
2011 Runner-up
1998-1999 Winner
1996-1997 Runner-up
1994-1995 Winner
1987-1988 Winner

Cork City 2020 Record

Clear Filter

  Matches Wins Draws Losses
0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 0 0

Cork City Squad

Players at the club between 1 Jan & 31 Dec of selected year

Clear Filter

Player Pos Age Nation Start Cur
Paul Hunt
GK 30 years, 10 months Ireland Jan. 5, 2021
Mark McNulty
GK 40 years, 3 months Ireland Jan. 2, 2011
David Harrington
GK - Ireland Jan. 27, 2018
Uniss Kargbo
DF - Unknown July 18, 2020
Josh Honohan
DF - Ireland Aug. 16, 2019
Ronan Hurley
DF 21 years, 4 months Ireland April 23, 2018
Rob Slevin
DF - Ireland Dec. 7, 2019
John Cotter
MID - Ireland Dec. 24, 2020
Dylan McGlade
MID 25 years, 9 months Ireland Dec. 29, 2019
Dale Holland
MID 21 years Ireland Oct. 5, 2018
Cian Bargary
MID - Ireland Jan. 11, 2019
Steven Beattie
MID 32 years, 5 months Ireland Jan. 11, 2021
Gearóid Morrissey
MID 29 years, 2 months Ireland Dec. 10, 2015
Cian Coleman
MID 24 years Ireland Nov. 7, 2019
Darragh Crowley
MID - Ireland March 22, 2019
Alec Byrne
MID 21 years, 7 months Ireland None
Colin Healy
Mgr 40 years, 10 months Ireland Dec. 24, 2020
Cian Murphy
FW 20 years, 7 months Ireland April 23, 2018
Cory Galvin
FW 25 years Ireland Jan. 1, 2020
Beineon O'Brien Whitmarsh
FW 21 years Ireland May 17, 2019
To be Confirmed
- England None