England name squad ahead of EURO2025 showdown against Ireland

England players celebrate scoring against Ireland in their 2-0 win in the Aviva Stadium in their EURO 2025 qualifier

England players celebrate scoring against Ireland in their 2-0 win in the Aviva Stadium in their EURO 2025 qualifier Credit: Eddie Lennon (ETPhotos)

England manager Sarina Wiegman has named an extended squad for the Lionesses final four EURO 2025 qualifiers.

Her squad will cover the double-header home and away matches against France (31 May and 4 June), the game in Norwich against the Republic of Ireland (12 July) and their final qualifier against Sweden in Gothenburg on 16 July.

Ahead of the England v Ireland clash, Eileen Gleeson’s side are playing a home and away double header against Sweden (31 May and 4 June).

It is an initial 24 player England squad, with four additional players on standby - Liverpool midfielder Missy Bo Kearns, Spurs player Jessica Naz, Manchester United defender Maya Le Tissier and Southampton goalkeeper Kayla Rendell.

Following her recovery from injury Millie Bright returns to the squad for the first time in 2024.

England plan to be in camp around the France games before the players will have a period of rest before a training camp at St. George’s Park between 24-28 June and a final camp in the Netherlands from 1-5 July. This will also involve a behind closed doors training fixture against the Dutch.

Wiegman said: “Naming a player group of 28 provides us with different options across the four fixtures and is an opportunity for some new faces to impress and build new connections.

“We’re really excited to get going again. The group is finely balanced and we know that every game is going to be tight and we’ll need to be at our best. France are an opposition we haven’t yet faced together so I’m looking forward to that challenge of playing one of the best teams in the world.”

The Lionesses sit second in Group A3, following a 1-1 draw against Sweden and a 2-0 victory against the Republic of Ireland in Dublin. The top two nations in the group will all automatically qualify for the finals, with a further seven places available via the play-offs. The teams who finish third or fourth enter those play-offs.

England squad in full

Goalkeepers: Mary Earps (Manchester United), Hannah Hampton (Chelsea), Khiara Keating (Manchester City), Kayla Rendell (Southampton)*

Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea), Lucy Bronze (Barcelona), Jess Carter (Chelsea), Niamh Charles (Chelsea), Alex Greenwood (Manchester City), Maya Le Tissier (Manchester United)*, Esme Morgan (Manchester City), Millie Turner (Manchester United), Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Lotte Wubben-Moy (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Grace Clinton (Tottenham Hotspur, loan from Manchester United), Missy-Bo Kearns (Liverpool)*, Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Jess Park (Manchester City), Georgia Stanway (Bayern Munich), Ella Toone (Manchester United), Keira Walsh (Barcelona)

Forwards: Aggie Beever-Jones (Chelsea), Lauren Hemp (Manchester City), Lauren James (Chelsea), Chloe Kelly (Manchester City), Beth Mead (Arsenal), Jessica Naz (Tottenham Hotspur)*, Alessia Russo (Arsenal)