Girls in Green squad named by Gleeson for France and England EURO qualifiers

Ireland staring XI ahead of the friendly defeat to Wales in February 2024

Ireland staring XI ahead of the friendly defeat to Wales in February 2024 Credit: Martin Doherty (ETPhotos)

The Ireland squad for the upcoming EURO 2025 qualifiers away to France and home to England has been named by Eileen Gleeson.

The Head Coach has selected a 26-player squad for the upcoming qualifers. The Republic of Ireland will begin their qualifying quest for the EUROs, set for Switzerland next year, with an away trip to take on France on Friday, April 5th in Metz – the French squad was also named this week (see here).

After the French test Ireland will return to Dublin to host England the following Tuesday in the Aviva – that match will be England’s first away trip to take on an Ireland side since securing a 1-0 win in Dalymount Park in 1987.

Over 20,000 tickets have been sold so far. When Ireland played their first women’s game in the Aviva last year against Northern Ireland there were 35, 944 spectators in attendance

Defender Niamh Fahey and midfielder Tyler Toland return to the squad after missing two recent friendlies against Italy and Cymru but Fahey is carrying a knock and will be assessed aehad of the games.

A new call up is Aston Villa player Anna Patten who is still awaiting international clearance from FIFA before being declared eligible for the two qualifiers.

The 24-year-old defender qualifies through her Donegal-born Grandfather and Galway-born Grandmother.

There is no place for Tara O'Hanlon, Sinead Farrelly, Jamie Finn or Chloe Mustaki due to injury and Gleeson has not called up any player’s from the League of Ireland.

After these two matches Eileen Gleeson’s side will host Sweden at the Aviva Stadium on Friday, May 31st ahead of travelling away to take on the same opponent on Tuesday, June 4th.

Ireland will travel to take on England in Carrow Road on Friday July 12th and with the Aviva Stadium unavailable in July, Ireland will finish their Group qualifiers against France on Tuesday, July 16th in a venue that is yet to be confirmed.


Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Grace Moloney (London City Lionesses), Sophie Whitehouse (Lewes).

Defenders: Jessie Stapleton (Reading - on loan from West Ham United), Diane Caldwell (FC Zurich), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Aoife Mannion (Manchester United), Caitlin Hayes (Celtic), Anna Patten (Aston Villa), Megan Campbell (London City Lionesses).

Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O'Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Bristol City), Ruesha Littlejohn (London City Lionesses), Tyler Toland (Blackburn Rovers), Lily Agg (Birmingham City), Heather Payne (Everton), Jess Ziu (West Ham United), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City), Izzy Atkinson (Crystal Palace).

Forwards: Kyra Carusa (San Diego Wave), Abbie Larkin (Crystal Palace), Amber Barrett (Standard Liege), Leanne Kiernan (Liverpool), Emily Murphy (Wake Forest University).