FAI Intermediate Cup round-up: Holders Rockmount advance while Collinstown defeat Lucan United

Eoin Murphy of Rockmount is a member of the Ireland squad

Eoin Murphy scored for Rockmount against Castleview Credit: Steve Alfred (ETPhotos)

Intermediate Cup holders Rockmount reached the third round of the competition thanks to a narrow 2-1 win against Castleview.

The Co Cork side have won the tournament two years in a row but were given a fright by their Munster Senior League opponents.

Former Cobh Ramblers man Eoin Murphy was on target for Eddie Kenny’s champions while Bradley Walsh also netted.

But Collinstown produced one of the shocks of the round with a 3-2 win over Lucan United.

Former Dundalk and Bohemians man Kurtis Byrne, Dylan Clarke and Luke Kelly were on target for the LSL Senior 1A side.

Marco Chindea and Jamie Doyle both scored for Lucan as the current Leinster Senior League top-flight leaders bowed out.

Meanwhile, Leinster Senior League high-flyers Kilbarrack United defeated Home Farm.

Striker Deiric Hyland and former Bohemians player Daniel Byrne both netted for Ross Carrig’s side in a 2-0 victory.

St Mochta’s also advanced with a 3-0 success against St Paul’s Artane.

Gareth McCaffrey scored two while Mikey Scott also found his goalscoring touch to seal the deal.

Elsewhere, Leinster Senior Cup finalists Usher Celtic were knocked out by Ayrfield United.

Adam McMahon and Gary Gannon both found the net for Usher but goals from Ciaran Walsh, Louis Franzoni and Sam Hayden sent Ayrfield through in a thriller.

Kilnamanagh also dumped Crumlin United out on penalties.

Ger Shortt and Ryan Masterson both traded goals before the Tallaght side won on spot-kicks.

Malahide United ran out 7-1 winners over Templeogue United, Skerries Town edged a seven-goal classic against Swords Celtic to win 4-3 while Hartstown Huntstown beat Sacred Heart Firhouse Clover 2-0.

Former League of Ireland stalwart Dean Zambra scored for Wayside Celtic in their 2-1 victory over Tolka Rovers, Greystones United beat Mid Sutton Sportslink and St Patrick’s CY lost on penalties against Maynooth University Town after drawing 2-2.

Glebe North also recorded a 3-0 win over St Kevin’s, St Francis defeated Dublin Bus 4-2 while Inchicore Athletic saw off Larkview 5-3.

In Munster, there were big wins for Carrigaline United and Leeds AFC, with both teams winning 9-3 and 5-0 respectively.

UCC also put two past Leeside United to advance with goals from Ross Cunningham and Denis Geary.

Ringmahon Rangers defeated Avondale United 2-1, Midleton edged past Casement Celtic with a 3-1 scoreline while Wilton United and St Mary’s went through.

College Corinthians beat Riverstown 3-0 while Carrigtwohill United beat Passage 2-1.

And back in Leinster, Finglas United defeated Newbridge Town 3-1, Finglas United beat Ballymun United by the same scoreline and UCD saw off neighbours TEK United 2-0.

Ballyfermot United knocked out Arklow Town with a 2-0 victory while Rush Athletic saw off Ardmore Rovers 3-2.


St Pat’s CY 2-2 Maynooth University Town – Maynooth win on penalties

Scorers: (St Pat’s CY) Mark Ivie & Curtis Murphy. (Maynooth University Town) Eoin O’Neill x2.

St Paul’s Artane 0-3 St Mochta’s

Scorers: (St Mochta’s) Gareth McCaffrey x2, Mikey Scott.

Usher Celtic 2-4 Ayrfield United

Scorers: (Usher Celtic) Adam McMahon & Gary Gannon. (Ayrfield United) Ciaran Walsh, Louis Franzoni x2, Sam Hayden.

Malahide United 7-1 Templeogue United

Scorers: (Malahide United) Cillian Timmons. Yuri Castro x3, Alan O’Sullivan, Dylan Cashin, Dola Simpson. Sean Ward.

Skerries Town 4-3 Swords Celtic

Scorers: (Skerries Town) Josh Mullin, Robert McKenna x3. (Swords Celtic) Jomi Adekunle x2, Jack Connolly.

Hartstown Huntstown 2-0 Sacred Heart Firhouse Clover

Scorers: (Hartstown Huntstown) Sean O’Reilly, Jake Brady.

Wayside Celtic 2-1 Tolka Rovers

Scorers: (Wayside Celtic) Dean Zambra, Cian Fay. (Tolka Rovers) Jake Hyland.

St Kevin’s 0-3 Glebe North

Scorers: (Glebe North) Olly Hamzat, Reece Weldon, Ahu Obhakan.

Home Farm 0-2 Kilbarrack United

Scorers: (Kilbarrack United) Deiric Hyland & Daniel Byrne.

St Francis 4-2 Dublin Bus

Scorers: (St Francis) Stephen Dunne, Sean O’Mahoney x3. (Dublin Bus) Liam Lee & Gareth Kenna.

Larkview 3-5 Inchicore

Scorers: (Larkview) TBC. (Inchicore Athletic) Jamie Henderson x2, Yanis Boulmehl, Keith Corrigan, Regan Lennon.

Rockmount 2-1 Castleview

Scorers: (Rockmount) Bradley Walsh, Eoin Murphy. (Castleview) TBC.

Douglas Hall 0-5 Leeds

Scorers: (Leeds) Corey Murphy, Cal Sheehy, Robert O’Connor, Timothy Foley, Kenny O’Leary.

Cobh Wanderers A-A Tramore Athletic

Carrigaline United 9-3 Macroom

Scorers: (Carrigaline United) TBC. (Macroom) Sean Murphy, Aaron Donovan, Mateusz Juszczak.

Leeside United 0-2 UCC

Scorers: (UCC) Ross Cunningham, Ronan Geary.

Finglas United 3-1 Ballymun United

Scorers: (Finglas United) Dean Ivory, Darragh Brennan & Jordan Wright. (Ballymun United) TBC.

Killester-Donnycarney 3-1 Newbridge

Scorers: (Killester-Donnycarney) Robert Dunne, Josh Scully x2. (Newbridge Town) Conor Brady.

UCD 2-0 TEK United

Scorers: (UCD) TBC. 

Collinstown 3-2 Lucan United

Scorers: (Collinstown) Dylan Clarke, Kurtis Byrne, Luke Kelly. (Lucan United) Marco Chindea, Jamie Doyle.

Crumlin United 1-1 Kilnamanagh AFC – Kilnamanagh win on penalties

Scorers: (Crumlin United) Ger Shortt. (Kilnamanagh) Ryan Masterson.

Ballyfermot United 2-0 Arklow Town

Scorers: (Ballyfermot United) Darryl Henderson, Jamie Kelly.

Rush Athletic 3-2 Ardmore Rovers

Scorers: (Rush Athletic) Rory Byrne, Darren Lynch, Brian Gillen. (Ardmore Rovers) TBC.

Carrigtwohill 2-1 Passage

Scorers: (Carrigtwohill) TBC. (Passage) TBC.

Casement Celtic 1-3 Midleton

Scorers: (Casement Celtic) Nathan Holland. Midleton (TBC).

Avondale United 1-2 Ringmahon Rangers

Scorers: (Avondale United) Niall Hanley. (RIngmahon Rangers) Jamie O’Sullivan, Anthony McAlavey.

Mayfield United 1-2 Wilton United

Scorers: (Mayfield United) TBC. (Wilton United) TBC.

Mallow United 1-4 St Mary’s

Scorers: (Mallow United) TBC. (St Mary’s) TBC.

College Corinthians 3-0 Riverstown

Scorers: (College Corinthians) Destiny Okonkwo, Keelan Crowley, Jack Dawson. 

Greystones United 2-0 Mid Sutton Sportslink 

Scorers: (Greystones United) Mick O'Brien, Glen Fitzsimons.