Izzy Atkinson added to Ireland UEFA Nations League squad

Izzy Atkinson

Izzy Atkinson Credit: Hugh de Paor (ETPhotos)

West Ham United’s Izzy Atkinson has been drafted in to the Republic of Ireland squad ahead of their upcoming double header of UEFA Nations League matches.

She comes in to replace Ruesha Littlejohn who has returned to London City Lionesses to recover from a quad injury she picked up ahead of the international camp.

Eileen Gleeson currently has a squad of 25 players, with some change from the Vera Pauw’ 23 player World Cup squad.

Injuries rule out Niamh Fahey, Megan Campbell and Sinead Farrelly from the squad, while Áine O'Gorman and Harriet Scott have retired from international football.

There are 11 players from the World Cup squad have moved clubs this season:

  1. Grace Moloney from Reading to London City Lionesses
  2. Megan Walsh from Brighton & Hove Albion to West Ham United
  3. Heather Payne from Florida State University to Everton
  4. Diane Caldwell from Reading to FC Zurich
  5. Claire O’Riordan from Celtic to Standard Liege
  6. Megan Connolly from Brighton & Hove Albion to Bristol City
  7. Lily Agg from London City Lionesses to Birmingham City
  8. Kyra Carusa from London City Lionesses to San Diego Waves
  9. Amber Barrett from Turbine Potsdam to Standard Liege
  10. Abbie Larkin from Shamrock Rovers to Glasgow City
  11. Ruesha Littlejohn who has just left the squad has moved from Aston Villa to London City Lionesses

With Abbie Larkin’s move to Glasgow City, Savannah McCarthy is the only League of Ireland player in the squad for the games at home to Northern Ireland and away to Hungary.

McCarthy is recalled to the squad along with defenders Hayley Nolan, Éabha O’Mahony, midfielder Tyler Toland and forwards Saoirse Noonan and Emily Whelan.

UEFA Nations League Ireland WNT Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Grace Moloney (London City Lionesses), Megan Walsh (West Ham United)

Defenders: Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Diane Caldwell (FC Zurich), Claire O’Riordan (Standard Liege), Savannah McCarthy (Shamrock Rovers), Éabha O’Mahony (University of Texas), Hayley Nolan (Crystal Palace), Chloe Mustaki (Bristol City)

Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Tyler Toland (Blackburn Rovers), Jamie Finn (Birmingham City), Megan Connolly (Bristol City), Lily Agg (Birmingham City), Heather Payne (Everton), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City), Marissa Sheva (Washington Spirit), Izzy Atkinson (West Ham United)

Forwards: Kyra Carusa (San Diego Wave), Abbie Larkin (Glasgow City), Amber Barrett (Standard Liege), Saoirse Noonan (Durham WFC), Emily Whelan (Glasgow City)