LSL Senior Sunday round-up: Wayside Celtic stay top, Kilbarrack United claim win while St Mochta’s and Tolka Rovers play out draw

Dean Paget watches on as St Mochta's celebrate their opening goal against Tolka Rovers on Wednesday night

Dean Paget watches on as St Mochta's celebrate their opening goal against Tolka Rovers on Wednesday night Credit: Martin Doherty (ETPhotos)

Leinster Senior League Senior Sunday league leaders Wayside Celtic kept their hold on top spot thanks to a thrilling late win against St Francis.

The South Dubliners have enjoyed an unbeaten start to the season and sit three points clear of second-placed St Mochta’s – but the Porterstown Road side have played a game less.

But for a time it looked as Wayside would be held to a points against St Francis at Jackson Park.

Lethal Dylan O’Connor – who has now scored four goals in as many games this season – was on target for Celtic along with Tom O’Hanlon, Cormac Kelly and Jack Curran.

But earlier goals from Darragh Murray and Dylan Hennessy had put Francis 2-1 ahead just before the half-time break.

However, Wayside pulled through late on to secure a morale-boosting win.

Meanwhile, Kilbarrack United ran out 2-1 winners against Bluebell United at Greendale Road.

All the goals in this tightly-fought encounter came inside the first 20 minutes with Kilbarrack opening the scoring through Mark Townley.

Josh Doyle – formerly of Northern Irish top-flight side Glenavon – levelled before in-form Deiric Hyland gave United an important home win.

That victory backs up their most recent success over Malahide United and draw against Lucan United.

Elsewhere, Lucan United also picked up their most comprehensive win of the season yet against Maynooth University Town – coming out on top 3-0.

Jamie Doyle, Marco Chindea and Brian Connaughton were all on target for Lucan.

Former Bohemians and Wolves striker Ryan Cassidy also scored on Wednesday night as Tolka Rovers nabbed a point against St Mochta’s.

Olly Dunne’s 75th minute looked like it had won the game for Mochta’s and Brian McCarthy’s men.

But Cassidy was on hand to level shortly afterwards and ensure a share of the spoils.

Malahide United also drew 2-2 against Killester-Donnycarney – Robert Dunne and Conor Cleary were both on target for the Hadden Park outfit.

But a brace from Mamadou Doumbia ensured United would not be defeated

Home Farm and Bangor Celtic also played out a 2-2 draw. Shane Lyons scored twice for Home Farm while Ronan Hanaphy also bagged a barce.


Lucan United 3-0 Maynooth University Town

Scorers: (Lucan United) Jamie Doyle, Marco Chindea, Brian Connaughton.

Kilbarrack United 2-1 Bluebell United

Scorers: (Kilbarrack United) Mark Townley, Deiric Hyland. (Bluebell United) Josh Doyle.

Wayside Celtic 4-2 St Francis

Scorers: (Wayside Celtic) Dylan O’Connor, Tom O’Hanlon, Cormac Kelly, Jack Curran. (St Francis) Darragh Murray, Dylan Hennessy.

Tolka Rovers 1-1 St Mochta’s

Scorers: (Tolka Rovers) Ryan Cassidy. (St Mochta’s) Olly Dunne.

Home Farm 2-2 Bangor Celtic

Scorers:(Home Farm) Shane Lyons (x2). (Bangor Celtic) Ronan Hanaphy (x2).

Malahide United 2-2 Killester-Donnycarney

Scorers: (Malahide United) Mamadou Doumbia (x2). (Killester-Donnycarney) Robert Dunne, Conor Cleary.

Top Scorers:

4 – Dylan O’Connor (Wayside Celtic).

3 – Ronan Hanaphy (Bangor Celtic), Deiric Hyland (Kilbarrack United), Luke Walsh (Lucan United), Luke Clucas (Wayside Celtic).

2 – Josh Doyle (Bluebell United), Mark Townley (Kilbarrack United), Robert Dunne (Killester Donnycarney), Caleb Gyasi (Liffey Wanderers), Liam Brady (St Mochta’s), Mikey Scott (St Mochta’s), Cormac Kelly (Wayside Celtic), Tom O'Hanlon (Wayside Celtic), Shane Lyons (Home Farm), Mamadou Doumbia (Malahide United).

1 - Mikey McCoy (Bangor Celtic), Ogi Lovic (Bangor Celtic), Glen McAuley (Bluebell United), Jack Savage (Bluebell United), Ger Shortt (Crumlin United), Ryan Kelly (Crumlin United), Bradley Hand (Home Farm), Sean Twomey (Home Farm) Clayton Maher (Kilbarrack United),  Daniel Byrne (Kilbarrack United), Dean Kelly (Killester Donnycarney), Sean Goulding (Killester Donnycarney), Ciaran Grogan (Liffey Wanderers), Darren O'Donoghue (Liffey Wanderers), Conor Clifford (Lucan United), Mark Byrne (Lucan United), Brian Connaughton (Lucan United), Dylan Cashin (Malahide United), Brian Carbrally (Malahide United), Kevin Farragher (Malahide United), Niall Lanigan (St Francis), Gareth McCaffrey (St Mochta’s), Luke McWilliams (St Mochta’s), Jake Hyland (Tolka Rovers), Tyrick Reilly (Tolka Rovers), Jake Byrne (Wayside Celtic), Cian Fay (Wayside Celtic), Jamie Doyle (Lucan United), Marco Chindea (Lucan United), Jack Curran (Wayside Celtic), Darragh Murray (St Francis), Dylan Hennessy (St Francis), Ryan Cassidy (Tolka Rovers), Olly Dunne (St Mochta’s), Conor Cleary (Killester-Donnycarney).