Ireland under 19 squad announced ahead of European Qualifiers

Ireland's under 19s head to Wales this week to begin their EURO Qualification campaign. Credit: Martin Doherty (ETPhotos)

Republic of Ireland under 19 head coach Tom Mohan has named a 20-man squad for the first round of the UEFA European Under 19 Championship Qualifiers in Wales.

Wallsall’s Ronan Maher and Reading’s John Clarke have received their first Ireland call-ups as the Boys in Green prepare to take on Gibraltar, Wales and Hungary as they look to book their place in the European Championship finals in Malta next summer.

They begin their qualifiers against Gibraltar on Wednesday, 21 September (kick-off 4pm), before facing home side Wales on Saturday, 24 September (kick-off 1pm) and then playing their final game on Tuesday, 27 September against Hungary (kick-off 6pm).

Republic of Ireland under 19 squad in full

Goalkeepers: Reece Byrne (Bohemians), Aaron Maguire (Tottenham Hotspur)

Defender: James Abankwah (Udinese), John Clarke (Reading), Sam Curtis (St. Patrick's Athletic), Sean Grehan (Crystal Palace), Alex Murphy (Newcastle United), Harry Nevin (Preston North End), David Okagbue (Oldham Athletic)

Midfielder: Justin Ferizaj (Shamrock Rovers), Oisin Gallagher (Lincoln City), Ronan Maher (Walsall), Ed McJannet (Luton Town), Harry Vaughan (Oldham Athletic)

Forwards: Nathan Fraser (Wolves), Tom Lonergan (UCD), Mark O'Mahony (Cork City), Franco Umeh (Cork City), Kevin Zefi (Inter Milan)