Ireland name 27-player squad for upcoming 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifier

Diane Caldwell in action against Georgia in Tallaght last November

Diane Caldwell in action against Georgia in Tallaght last November Credit: Peter Fitzpatrick (ETPhotos)

The Republic of Ireland squad for the upcoming 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifying game against Georgia was named by Vera Pauw on Wednesday.

The Dutch coach is bringing 27 players to their initial training camp in Turkey, where they will also play a friendly against the Philippines this Sunday (ko 4pm Irish time live on FAI TV YouTube), before the game in Georgia on Monday June 27th (ko 5pm Irish time live on RTÉ2).

Philippines are ranked 54th in the world rankings compared with Ireland in 30th position.
Pauw has recalled Peamount United striker Stephanie Roche to the squad for the first time since November 2019 and has brought in for the first time Durham WFC goalkeeper Naoisha McAloon.

Defender Diane Caldwell also returns to the squad having been unavailable for Ireland’s 1-1 draw with Sweden in April.

The draw in Gothenburg, which saw the Swedes secure the automatic qualification spot from Group A, leaves Ireland in third place in the group. A win over Georgia would see them jump above Finland into second spot with two games remaining.

Ireland beat Georgia 11-0 in Tallaght earlier in the campaign, with their final matches being a game with Finland on 1 September in Tallaght Stadium followed by a trip to Slovakia five days later.
Due to exam commitments Wexford Youths duo Aoibheann Clancy and Ellen Molloy are not available for the camp and the upcoming qualifier as they are both currently doing their Leaving Certificate exams.

Injuries mean that Savannah McCarthy, Megan Campbell, Aoife Colvill, Rianna Jarrett, Leanne Kiernan and Kyra Carusa alsomiss out.
The Irish players and officials flew out to the training camp in Anataya on Wednesday and will travel on to Tbilisi on Saturday June 25th ahead of the qualifier against Georgia.

The squad, which contains seven current SSE Airtricity WNL players, in full is:

Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Megan Walsh (Brighton & Hove Albion), Grace Moloney (Reading), Naoisha McAloon (Durham)
Defenders: Jess Ziu (Shelbourne), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Diane Caldwell (Manchester United), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Jessie Stapleton (Shelbourne), Éabha O’Mahony (Boston College), Áine O’Gorman (Peamount United), Chloe Mustaki (Shelbourne)
Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ruesha Littlejohn (Aston Villa), Jamie Finn (Birmingham City), Ciara Grant (Hearts), Lily Agg (London City Lionesses), Roma McLaughlin (Connecticut Fusion), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City)
Forwards: Heather Payne (Florida State University), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Abbie Larkin (Shelbourne), Stephanie Roche (Peamount United), Saoirse Noonan (Shelbourne)