FAI confirm ten team First Division with Treaty United in as tenth team

Sat, Feb 20 2021
League of Ireland football returns to Limerick

League of Ireland football returns to Limerick Credit: Hugh de Paor (ETPhotos)

On Saturday evening the FAI confirmed the make up of the 2021 First Division. 

The Board of the FAI made the final decision on the composition of the league and have included Limerick side Treaty United.

The FAI’s statement noted that “Licences for the 2021 season were awarded by the Independent Licensing Committee (NLEC) on Friday. On receipt earlier today of the NLEC recommendation that the First Division comprise of ten teams, the FAI Board then took its decision this afternoon.”

While Shamrock Rovers II had been awarded a licence, the FAI made the decision to keep with their planned ten team second flight with Treaty United filling the ‘To Be Confirmed’ spot on the league fixtures that were announced recently.

The full set of First Division fixtures including Treaty United are available here.

It means that Rovers II and Dublin County FC, who had also applied for a licence, miss out. 


Did you enjoy this article? If so, please consider becoming a patron of extratime.com for just €4 a month to help us cover running costs.