PFAI First Division Player of the Year nominees unveiled

Tue, Oct 22 2019

The Professional Footballer’s Association of Ireland (PFAI) have unveiled their three nominees for the First Division Player of the Year Award.

Cabinteely’s Rob Manley, Drogheda United’s Chris Lyons and Dean Byrne of Longford Town have all been earmarked for the accolade.

Manley, the First Division’s top scorer with 17 league goals impressed for the Green and White’s this term – having joined from Drogheda during the off-season.

The 22-year-old forward has played a key role in Cabo’s playoff odyssey thus far, scoring the winning spot-kick against Longford Town in the second leg of the first round of the playoffs.

Manley’s most recent strike came at home against Athlone Town, the night when Cabinteely secured their playoff position.

The Boynesiders Chris Lyons has also been nominated for the award, with his 13 goal league tally proving decisive.

The former Bray Wanderers striker set up Jake Hyland’s leveller on Friday evening against Cabinteely at Stradbrook, with both side’s level going into Friday’s second leg.

Byrne rounds off the three-man shortlist for the title, having impressed for Longford throughout the 2019 campaign.

The former Hardwicke forward joined the Midlander’s prior to the beginning of the 2018 season, but his season that year was cruelly cut short by injury.

However, the Dubliner has bounced back well from his long-term injury, scoring 12 for Longford this term on their way to a 3rd place finish in the league table.