Ireland Women’s Under-17 squad heads to Portugal for friendlies ahead of EURO Qualifiers

The Ireland Women’s Under-17 team is set to embark on an eight-day training camp near Lisbon, Portugal, as part of their preparations for the upcoming UEFA Women’s Under-17 European Championship qualifiers.

The Girls in Green will play two international friendly matches, facing Korea Republic on January 19 and Portugal on January 24.

Head Coach James Scott has announced the squad for these friendlies, giving first-time call-ups to six players: Della Cowper Gray, Keelin Dodd, Lucy Fitzgerald, Emily Fitzgerald, Ella Kelly, and Anna Butler.

This camp and the games are all part of the preparation as the team gears up for their important EURO qualifiers in Albania against the host nation and Israel next month.

The squad consists of players from various clubs, reflecting the breadth of talent across Ireland.

Shamrock Rovers contribute seven players: Clodagh Daly, Della Cowper Gray, Amy Tierney, Sorcha Melia, Katie O'Reilly, Ella Kelly, and Anna Butler.

Representing Cork City are Clodagh Fitzgerald, Ciara Fitzpatrick, and Kiera Sena.

Shelbourne’s presence in the squad includes Lucy O'Rourke, Hannah O'Brien, and Rebecca Devereux.

Other clubs represented are Galway United (Emma Duffy and Emily Fitzgerald), Sligo Rovers (Keeva Flynn), DLR Waves (Keelin Dodd), Bohemians (Aoibhe Brennan and Anna Hegarty), Athlone Town (Lucy Fitzgerald), Treaty United (Katie Lawlee), and SJEB Academy – USA (Enya Carthy).

The fixtures for the friendlies are scheduled for January 19 against Korea Republic at Estádio Dr. Alves Vieira in Torres Novas and January 24 against Portugal at Campo Chã das Padeiras in Santarém.

The squad in full is: 

Goalkeepers: Clodagh Fitzgerald (Cork City), Enya Carthy (SJEB Academy – USA)
Defenders: Emma Duffy (Galway United), Lucy O'Rourke (Shelbourne), Clodagh Daly (Shamrock Rovers), Ciara Fitzpatrick (Cork City), Keeva Flynn (Sligo Rovers), Della Cowper Gray (Shamrock Rovers), Keelin Dodd (DLR Waves), Kiera Sena (Cork City)
Midfielders: Aoibhe Brennan (Bohemians), Amy Tierney (Shamrock Rovers), Lucy Fitzgerald (Athlone Town), Anna Hegarty (Bohemians), Ella Kelly (Shamrock Rovers)
Forwards: Katie Lawlee (Treaty United), Hannah O'Brien (Shelbourne), Sorcha Melia (Shamrock Rovers), Rebecca Devereux (Shelbourne), Anna Butler (Shamrock Rovers), Emily Fitzgerald (Galway United), Katie O'Reilly (Shamrock Rovers)