FAI Cup Report: Derry City 0 – 0 St. Patrick’s Athletic AET (Saints win 4-3 on penalties)

Saints celebrate their penalty shoot-out win

Saints celebrate their penalty shoot-out win Credit: John-Paul McGinley (ETPhotos)

FAI Cup holders Derry City exited the competition after a second shoot-out defeat in four days.

There will be a new winner of the FAI Cup now this season after City were eliminated on penalties by St. Patrick’s Athletic.

The two teams played out a scoreless draw over 120 minutes with the game going to penalties at the Ryan McBride Brandywell Stadium on Sunday evening.

Having lost a shootout in sudden death to Tobol in Tallaght Stadium on Thursday night in the third qualifying round of the Europa Conference League, there was heartbreak again for the Candystripes from 12 yards.

The Saints went first in the shootout with Chris Forrester getting them on their way. While Jake Mulraney missed his spot kick, so did City’s Mickey Duffy. 15-year-old Mason Melia took the Athletics’ fifth penalty and scored.

It meant when Mark Connolly’s spot kick came back off the butt of the post for City, St. Patrick’s Athletic had the 4-3 shoot-out win to make the quarter-finals of this year’s competition.

In the other tie played on Sunday, Wexford defeated St. Patrick’s CYFC in Irishtown Stadium 1-0 thanks to a Darragh Levingston’s first half goal.

Derry City: Brian Maher; Ronan Boyce, Ciaran Coll, Shane McEleney (Mark Connolly 59), Cameron McJannet; Cameron Dummigan (Danny Mullen 79), Brandon Kavanagh, Paul McMullen (Michael Duffy 69), Adam O'Reilly, Will Patching (Patrick McEleney 106); Jamie McGonigle (Ben Doherty 79).
Subs not used: Tadhg Ryan, Cian Kavanagh, Jordan McEneff.
Booked: Adam O'Reilly (19), Ben Doherty (87).

St. Patrick's Athletic: Dean Lyness; Anto Breslin, Sam Curtis, Jay McGrath, Joe Redmond; Jamie Lennon (Ben McCormack 105), Jason McClelland, Adam Murphy (Alex Nolan 88); Conor Carty (Thomas Lonergan 70), Mark Doyle (Kian Leavy 77), Chris Forrester.
Subs not used: Danny Rogers, Ryan McLaughlin, David Norman Jr., Jake Mulraney.
Booked: Jamie Lennon (82), Joe Redmond (96), Thomas Lonergan (110), Jay McGrath (114).