10-team First Division set as FAI confirm licensing for 2020 campaign

The 2020 First Division is set to take place with ten teams following confirmation that there will be no Limerick representative in the second tier.

The inclusion of Shamrock Rovers II has also been locked in, despite a number of First Division clubs publicly opposing the venture.

As a result, the First Division will be scheduled as described in the initial fixture list sent out to the clubs.

A statement from the FAI reads;  “Following the work undertaken by the Independent Club Licensing Committee and the Independent Appeals Committee, the FAI can confirm that all applicants have been awarded licences for the 2020 SSE Airtricity League season, as follows:-
Bohemian FC, Cork City, Derry City, Dundalk, Finn Harps, Shamrock Rovers, Shelbourne, Sligo Rovers, St. Patrick’s Athletic, Waterford FC.
Athlone Town, Bray Wanderers, Cabinteely, Cobh Ramblers, Drogheda United, Galway United, Longford Town, Shamrock Rovers II, UCD AFC, Wexford FC.