I am looking for..

Please select a Team: (type and the magic happens)

Galway United (ex)

Website - http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/

Team Profile

Nickname: The Tribesmen

Country of Origin: Ireland

Ground: Terryland Park

Ground History


NameStart DateEnd Date
Terryland Park Jul 1981 Dec 2011

Galway United (ex) History

Galway United F.C. (Irish: Cumann Peile Ghaillimh Aontaithe) was founded as Galway Rovers in 1937. Galway first joined the League of Ireland in 1977, having been invited to participate in the League Cup the previous year. Galway Rovers made its League of Ireland debut in Terryland Park against St Patricks Athletic on August 28th of that year.

Galway United played their last season of LoI football in 2011, dissolving at the end of that year due to financial issues. The club was reincarnated in 2014 as an amalgam of the old United, Salthill Devon, Mervue United and the Galway FA under the name Galway FC. The following season their name changed again, this time to Galway United FC.

League Champions: Best-Placed finish-2nd

First Division Champions: Once

FAI Cup Winners: Once

League Cup: Twice
(1985/86, 1996/97)

Galway United (ex) 2021 Record

Clear Filter

  Matches Wins Draws Losses
0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 0 0

Galway United (ex) Squad

Players at the club between 1 Jan & 31 Dec of selected year

Clear Filter

Player Pos Age Nation Start Cur
Seamus Friel
GK 39 years, 2 months Ireland March 4, 2010
Greg Fleming
GK 34 years, 7 months Scotland March 4, 2011
James Creaney
DF 32 years, 7 months Scotland Feb. 17, 2010
Thomas Heary
DF 42 years, 3 months Ireland Feb. 19, 2010
Rhys Meynell
DF 32 years, 9 months England Feb. 27, 2010
Brian Cash
MID 38 years, 6 months Ireland March 3, 2011
Joseph Yoffe
FW 33 years, 12 months England March 4, 2011