Date: 7:45 p.m. March 3, 2020

To be Confirmed 50' -
Scored: 50'

Scored: 45'
- Cian Murphy 45'

Scored: 75'
- Cian Bargary 75'

Munster Senior Cup Report: Mayfield United 1 - 2 Cork City

Wed, Mar 04 2020

Cork City crest. Credit: Michael P Ryan

Dylan O’Connell reports from Lotamore

Cork City booked their place in the semi-finals of the Munster Senior Cup with a 2-1 victory over Mayfield United on Tuesday night in Lotamore.

Goals from Cian Murphy and Cian Bargary sealed the win for City, while a strike from Noah Cisse kept the hosts fighting until the last kick of the game.  

Neale Fenn made eleven changes from Friday’s 1-0 win over Finn Harps at Turner’s Cross, including a start for David Harrington, son of City legend Phil ‘Biscuits’ Harrington, in goal.

Alan Bennett got his first competitive start of the season, with the seasoned centre back lining out with new signing Rob Slevin.

Corey Galvin, who signed from Waterford, started his first competitive game for the Leesiders, while academy players Dan Crowley, Josh Honohan, Cian Murphy, Dale Holland, Rory Doyle and Uniss Kargboall also featured.

From the whistle, City attacked and were ahead after ten minutes when Murphy rapped the ball in from close range.

The forward pestered the Munster Senior League club for much of the half, forcing a number of fine saves from Ryan Delaney.

He opened the scoring after seven minutes. A fine passage of play between Galvin and Crowley allowed Kargboall free inside the area to square for Murphy to slot it into the bottom left corner.

Mayfield equalised five minutes into the second half when Noah Cisse knocked in from a goalmouth scramble following a corner.

Within minutes, City where gifted a penalty after Scott Murphy fouled Murphy inside the box. Up stepped Galvin, but he saw his low shot saved by Delaney.

Substitute Bargary scored the winner wth fifteen minutes remaining after he curled the ball smoothly into the top right corner from distance.

City will play Midleton in the semi finals, while Carrigaline play Rockmount United on the other side of the draw. 

Mayfield United: Ryan Delaney, Eoin Quirke (David O’Gorman 45), Scott McCarthy, Troy O’Sullivan, Mady Noah Cisse, Mark O’Donnell, Christopher McCarthy, Matthew Murray (Gary Gould 84), Matthew Ekhosuehi (Tony Kelly 69), Colin Lemass, Thomas Kelly (Josh McAuliffe 87).

Cork City: David Harrington, Alan Bennett (Jake O’Brien 62), Rob Slevin, Cory Galvin, Darragh Crowley (Sean McGrath 86), Josh Honohan (Adam Hunt (45), Reydon Dillon, Cian Murphy (Cian Bargary 67), Dale Holland, Uniss Kargbo, Rory Doyle.

Subs not used: Adam Cantwell, Jake O’Brien, Evison Shllaku-Rramani.

Referee: Graham Kelly.

Mayfield United

Cork City