League Report: Galway United 6 - 0 Finn Harps


Galway United have won all their home games this season. Credit: Liam Coughlan (ETPhotos)

Paul Corcoran reports from Eamonn Deacy Park

Galway United recorded an emphatic victory when they ran out 6-0 winners over Finn Harps at Eamonn Deacy Park on Monday evening, the win is their fifth in six games.

Darren Clarke, Killian Brouder, Stephen Walsh and Maurice Nugent all scored in the opening twenty minutes with Rob Manley and David Hurley adding a goal each in the second half.

John Caulfield made four changes from his side’s 1-1 draw with Bray Wanderers on Friday with Darren Clarke and Evan O’Connor coming into the side for their first starts for the club. They were joined by Maurice Nugent and Rob Manley in place of Vince Borden, Francely Lomboto, the suspended Rob Slevin and the injured Conor O’Keeffe.

For Finn Harps, manager Dave Rogers opted for just one change after their scoreless draw with Kerry on Friday with Kevin Jordan dropping to the bench and Daithi McCallion taking his place in the starting team.

United were on the front foot early on with Killian Brouder nearly scoring from a low free-kick by David Hurley, the defender flicking a back heel on goal at the front post but the ball was deflected behind for a corner kick.

The Tribesmen were in front in the fourth minute with Darren Clarke providing the emphatic finish on the volley after Regan Donelon swung a beautiful cross into the box from the left – it evaded the head of Stephen Walsh but Clarke eyed goal and smashed the ball into the back of the net.

Clarke turned provider just six minutes later after some great link up play with Conor McCormack and David Hurley on the left. The midfielder drilled a cross from the endline and found Brouder who tapped the ball into the goal easily to double the home side’s lead.

Stephen Walsh added a third in the 15th minute when he escaped his marker and ran into the box to meet a Conor McCormack corner kick – the striker timed his run perfectly with a strong header into the net.

The home side scored for a fourth time in the 20th minute with McCormack providing the ball from a corner kick once again, this time Nugent worked himself free to win the header with the defender nodding the ball high into the net.

At the other end – Harps did manage to make Galway sweat when Sean O’Donnell was played in on goal, the visitors could have pulled a goal back only for Brendan Clarke coming off his line to deny the midfielder in the 22nd minute.

Manley should have tacked on a fifth before half time when Evan O’Connor fired a ball into the box, it fell to the striker at close range, but Hiemer managed to react quickly enough to make the save.

United scored their fifth in the 53rd minute, O’Connor worked hard to get the ball to Walsh on the edge of the box, the striker managed to sneak the ball into the path of Manley who stroked the ball into the net.

They got in on goal in the 89th minute when substitute Francely Lomboto took the ball to the endline with Heimer taking the striker down and referee Adriano Reale pointing to the spot. David Hurley stepped up to stroke the ball into the net for his tenth goal of the season.

United had a chance to make it seven deep in injury time when Brouder found substitute Vince Borden with a long throw, the imposing midfielder rose highest in the box but his effort clipped the post.

The Tribesmen travel to face Wexford on Friday ahead of the mid-season break while Finn Harps will travel to Longford.

Galway United: Brendan Clarke; Killian Brouder, Regan Donelon (Oisin O'Reilly 71), Maurice Nugent, Evan O'Connor; Darren Clarke (Francely Lomboto 64), David Hurley, Edward McCarthy (Mikie Rowe 71), Conor McCormack (Vincent Borden 46); Rob Manley, Stephen Walsh (Steven Healy 64).

Subs not used: Alex Rutter, Colm Horgan, Aaron Neary, Ibrahim Keita.

Booked: Conor McCormack (31), Killian Brouder (39).

Finn Harps: Tim Oliver Hiemer; Noe Baba, Keith Cowan (Sean O'Kane 83), Ryan Flood, Seamas Keogh (Damian Duffy 34), Shane McMonagle; Michael Harris, Katlego Mashigo (Kevin Jordan 46), Daithi McCallion, Sean O'Donnell; Filip da Silva (Max Johnston 83).

Subs not used: Oisin Cooney, Brendan McLaughlin, Shaunie Bradley.

Booked: Sean O'Donnell (9), Ryan Flood (54), Kevin Jordan (80).

Referee: Adriano Reale.

Attendance: 1,500 (estimate)

extratime.com Player of the Match: Darren Clarke (Galway United)