Stephen Kenny talks up attacking options as he names 27 player squad

Wed, May 25 2022
Michael Obafemi in action for the Republic of Ireland u21 team

Michael Obafemi in action for the Republic of Ireland u21 team Credit: Martin Doherty (ETPhotos)

Republic of Ireland boss Stephen Kenny named a 27 player squad for the upcoming UEFA Nations League matches. 

The four games in June provide a mini-tournament feel for the football to come next month.

The Boys in Green begin with an away game in Armenia on Saturday June 4 before the visit of Ukraine the following Wednesday and Scotland on Saturday June 11 to the Aviva Stadium. 

They round the fixtures out by travelling to ?ód? in Poland to take on Ukraine on Tuesday June 14.

Kenny has bolstered his attacking options by calling up for the first time Blackpool’s CJ Hamilton and Derby County Festy Ebosele with Michael Obafemi returning to the senior squad.

The Ireland boss is delighted that Obafemi has got a run of consecutive games with his move to play with Swansea in the Championship proving beneficial to the 21 year old player who scored 12 goals in 32 appearances for the Welsh side.

Kenny has seen new aspects to the player with.

“HIs hold up play has really come on well, and he has shown great football intelligence aligned to his natural speed,” said Kenny speaking at Wednesday press conference. 

Hamilton has played his football coming up through the ranks from the Conference, League Two and One to the Championship and Kenny noted the versatility of the player who lined out both on the left and right wing for Blackpool this season.

Fulham defender Cyrus Christie returns to replace the injured Matt Doherty. 

Republic of Ireland Squad - UEFA Nations League

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Manchester City), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth).
Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Shane Duffy (Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Nathan Collins (Burnley), Dara O'Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers).
Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Josh Cullen (Anderlecht), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Jayson Molumby (West Bromwich Albion), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jason Knight (Derby County). 
Forwards: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Scott Hogan (Birmingham City), Will Keane (Wigan Athletic), Michael Obafemi (Swansea City), Chiedozie Ogbene (Rotherham United), CJ Hamilton (Blackpool), Festy Ebosele (Derby County).

Did you enjoy this article? If so, please consider becoming a patron of for just €4 a month to help us cover running costs.