Fixtures for re-started League of Ireland season confirmed by FAI

Mon, Jul 13 2020

The league is set to return on Friday 31 July Credit: Michael P Ryan (ETPhotos)

The fixtures for the remainder of the 2020 SSE Airtricity League of Ireland season were confirmed by the FAI on Monday evening.

As had been announced previously, the season will restart on Friday 31 July, following the suspension of the league back in March due to COVID-19.

The season has been reduced in length so that there will be only two rounds of matches between the sides and will include all the results from matches played to date. 


The promotion and relegation play-off arrangement remains as set out when the league began back in February. However, the promotion/relegation play-off final will take place on the weekend of Sunday 8 November. 


The FAI also confirmed that all Premier Division matches up to and including Series 11 (played across 11 to 13 September) have been selected for TV or streaming broadcast. Following that, all fixtures onwards are subject to change for broadcast. 

As such, the Premier Division fixtures are scheduled across Friday, Saturday and Sunday for broadcast purposes.

First restarted Premier Division fixtures

Champions Dundalk will pick up their league campaign again on Friday 31 July when they welcome St. Patrick’s Athletic to Oriel Park (7.45pm kick off). The first fixture of the restarted season will take place earlier in the day when Derry City play Sligo Rovers – that fixture in the Ryan McBride Brandywell Stadium has a kick off at 5.45pm.

Current league leaders Shamrock Rovers will host Finn Harps on Saturday 1 August at 5pm, with Waterford travelling to Tolka Park to take on Shelbourne that day (2pm kick off).

The final fixture of the restarted Premier Division sees Cork City will play Bohemians in Turner’s Cross on Sunday 2 August (kick off 5pm).

First Division

The First Division also restarts on 31 July with four fixtures, with the remaining fixture taking place on Sunday 2 August.

You can see both the Premier Division and First Division fixtures in full here.


The FAI Cup first round dates and kick-off times were also confirmed this evening. Only League of Ireland clubs are taking part due to the shortened season. 13 clubs were given a first round bye following a draw, with the remaining six sides (Shamrock Rovers II do not take part in the FAI Cup) drawn in the first round as follows.

Finn Harps v St. Patrick's Athletic - Monday, 10 August (kick off 7.45pm)

Cork City v Longford Town - Tuesday, 11 August 11 (kick off 7.45pm)

Dundalk v Waterford - Tuesday, 11 August 11 (kick off 7.45pm)

The FAI Cup quarter-finals are scheduled for the weekend ending Sunday 15 November, the semi-finals for the weekend after and the final is set for the weekend of Sunday, 29 November.