Third Level Education -- Different Voices

Tue, Apr 21 2020

Seventy per cent of the workforce in the Republic of Ireland (approx 1.9 million people) had continued in their education beyond the age of 19 according to the Central Statistics Office figures from 2016. Add that to the fact that a FIFPro study from the same year found that the average LOI contract was one of the shortest in the world (11.5 months) and, according to the same study, 56.5 per cent earned less than €900 a month. With that in mind, it's worth taking a look at pathways which help develop players for their careers on and off the field.

If you’re a parent, player or interested spectator in the League of Ireland Underage Leagues, have a read through the actual figures involved as of October last year.

https://www.extratime.ie/articles/23744/first-teams-and-college-dreams---a-data-based-look-at-the-players-from-the-opening-elite-underage-leagues/

Now you can see how important education is, find the interview most applicable to the educational route you favour. These interviews were carried over the past 27 months (January 2018- current)

IT Sligo Scholarship-  https://www.extratime.ie/articles/24502/soccer-and-study-in-sligo--a-synopsis/

Waterford IT Scholarship-  https://www.extratime.ie/articles/24464/wit-vikings-aiming-to-plunder-new-territory/

IT Carlow Scholarship (Overview)-  https://www.extratime.ie/articles/24326/carlow-college-cups-and-careers/

Players who attended IT Carlow

Darren McGarry (Virgin Islands Under 15 Manager) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/23062/from-longford-to-the-british-virgin-islands---the-darren-mcgarry-story/

Micheál Schlingermann (Galway Utd) also a former ETB scholar https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20301/education-life-beyond-soccer---5-michel-schlingermann/

 

Peamount United

Amber Barrett (Irish international playing in Germany with a degree from DCU) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20492/education-life-beyond-soccer----17-amber-barrett/

James O Callaghan (Manager and involved with Maynooth University) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20304/education-life-beyond-soccer---8-james-ocallaghan/

 

USA Scholarship

Corey Chambers (Cabinteely, formerly George Mason University) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/21515/educationlife-beyond-soccer--24-corey-chambers/

Steven Beattie (Chattanooga Red Wolves, formerly of NKU) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20300/education-life-beyond-soccer---4-steven-beattie/

 

UCD (Overview from Ian Ryan- Assistant Manager) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20299/education-life-beyond-soccer---3-ian-ryan/

UCD Scholarship (Conan Byrne) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20355/education-life-beyond-soccer---16-conan-byrne/

UCD Degree (Brian Gartland) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20302/education-life-beyond-soccer---6-brian-gartland/

 

Schoolboys (International manager William O Connor) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20772/education-life-beyond-soccer---19-william-oconnor/

Schoolboys (Leinster Assistant Manager Fintan Sheridan) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20303/education-life-beyond-soccer---7-fintan-sheridan/

Colleges and Universities (International manager Greg Yelverton) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20773/education-life-beyond-soccer---20-greg-yelverton/

Third Level and Universities Co Ordinator (Mark Scanlon) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20298/education-life-beyond-soccer---2-mark-scanlon/

English Youth Player (Alan Cawley) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/21442/education-life-beyond-soccer---23-alan-cawley/

English Youth Manager (Dave Robertson) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20310/education-life-beyond-soccer---14-dave-robertson/

League of Ireland Academy Player (Jack O Keeffe) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20306/education-life-beyond-soccer---10-jack-okeefe/

League of Ireland Academy Manager (Jimmy Mowlds) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/21123/education-life-beyond-soccer-21-jimmy-mowlds/

Sports Reporting (Miguel Delaney) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20326/education-life-beyond-soccer---15-miguel-delaney/

 

League of Ireland as Player and Coach/Manager

John Russell https://www.extratime.ie/articles/21170/education-life-beyond-soccer-22-john-russell/

Alan Murphy https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20551/education-life-beyond-soccer-18-alan-murphy/

 

Administrators

Stephen Finn (Former FAI, Shels Academy, International futsal) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20309/education-life-beyond-soccer---13-stephen-finn/

Stephen McGuinness (PFAI) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20308/education-life-beyond-soccer---12-stephen-mcguinness/

Dr Sean O Connaill (UCC and Cork City) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20305/education-life-beyond-soccer---9-dr-sean-oconnaill/

Kyle Ferguson (Ulster University and IFA) https://www.extratime.ie/articles/20307/education-life-beyond-soccer---11-kyle-ferguson/