Former Saints striker Aidan Keena among three new faces in Ireland under-21 squad for Armenia trip

Wed, Nov 06 2019

Captain Jayson Molumby will miss the trip to Armenia with suspension but will return for the visit of Sweden. Credit: Michael P Ryan (ETPhotos)

Republic of Ireland under-21 manager Stephen Kenny has named his squad for the upcoming UEFA Euro 2021 qualifiers against Armenia and Sweden.

Kenny has named six League of Ireland players in his squad with Shamrock Rovers’ Neil Farrugia, Waterford’s Zack Elbouzedi, Bohemians’ Danny Mandroiu and Danny Grant and UCD’s Conor Kearns and Liam Scales all making the final 22.

There are first time call ups for Aston Villa’s Jack Clarke, Hearts’ former St Patrick’s Athletic striker Aidan Keena and full-back Thomas O’ Connor, who is on loan at Gillingham from Southampton.

Captain Jayson Molumby and defender Lee O’Connor will both miss the Armenia game due to suspension but the pair will link up with the squad ahead of the home qualifier against Sweden.

Tottenham Hotspur striker Troy Parrott and Aaron Connolly of Brighton & Hove Albion are also unavailable as they will link up with Mick McCarthy’s senior squad for the games with New Zealand and Denmark.

The squad travel to Yerevan, Armenia for their qualifier on Thursday, November 14 (kick-off 12noon Irish time) and they will return to Ireland to face Sweden on Tuesday, November 19 (kick-off 8pm).

Republic of Ireland U21 Squad

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Conor Kearns (UCD AFC).

Defenders: Thomas O'Connor (Gillingham, on loan from Southampton), Danny McNamara (Newport County, on loan from Millwall), Dara O'Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Conor Masterson (QPR), Liam Scales (UCD AFC), Nathan Collins (Stoke City), Trevor Clarke (Rotherham).

Midfielders: Jason Knight (Derby County), Conor Coventry (West Ham United), Jack Taylor (Barnet), Jack Clarke (Aston Villa), Connor Ronan (DAC Dunajská Streda, on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Dan Mandroiu (Bohemians).

Wingers: Zack Elbouzedi (Waterford), Gavin Kilkenny (AFC Bournemouth), Neil Farrugia (Shamrock Rovers), Danny Grant (Bohemians).

Forwards: Adam Idah (Norwich City), Aidan Keena (Hearts), Michael Obafemi (Southampton).