Galway's Chloe Singleton replaces injured Clare Shine as Ireland prepare for Montenegro clash

Wed, Aug 28 2019

None Credit: Steve Alfred (ETPhotos)

Galway’s Chloe Singleton has been called up in place of the injured Clare Shine as interim manager Tom O’Connor finalises his squad for next week’s Euro 2021 qualifier at home to Montenegro.

Glasgow City striker Shine had been recalled to the international squad for the first time in two years after an extended injury-hit spell and has been forced to withdraw once more.

Stephanie Roche has been recalled for the first time since suffering a knee injury in the first World Cup 2019 qualifier against Northern Ireland in 2017.

Manchester City’s Tyler Toland and North Carolina Courage midfielder Denise O’Sullivan have also been recalled after sitting out the friendly defeat to the World Cup winners USA earlier this month.

WNL player of the month for June Eleanor Ryan Doyle is involved, as is her teammate Claire Walsh, while Wexford striker Rianna Jarrett also features.]

Cork City defender Eabha O’Mahony and Shelbourne’s Jess Gargan complete the six-strong National League contingent.

“I’m really looking forward to it,” O’Connor told the association’s media team.

“We had a brilliant few days in America, but this is the game we have targeted. We’re looking forward to playing Montenegro.

“Denise is one of the best players the country has ever produced. She is brilliant week in and week out in America, and Tyler will really make an impact for us.”

Ireland open their campaign against Montenegro at Tallaght on Tuesday, September 3rd (kick-off 7.30pm).

Republic of Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Grace Moloney (Reading)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Louise Quinn (Arsenal), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Megan Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Eabha O’Mahony (Cork City)

Midfielders: Tyler Toland (Manchester City), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Eleanor Ryan-Doyle (Peamount United), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Chloe Singleton (Galway), Jess Gargan (Shelbourne)

Forwards: Amber Barrett (FC Köln), Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Rianna Jarrett (Wexford Youths), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Stephanie Roche (CF Florentia)


Did you enjoy this article? If so, please consider becoming a patron of for just €4 a month to help us cover running costs.