Bohemians' Danny Mandroiu and Darragh Leahy named in Ireland under-21 squad for Armenia and Sweden tests

Wed, Aug 28 2019

Mandroiu in action for Bohemians against Friday's opponents Shamrock Rovers. Credit: Martin Doherty (ETPhotos)

Ireland under-21 manager Stephen Kenny has included Bohemians pair Danny Mandroiu and Darragh Leahy in a strong squad for the Euro 2021 qualifiers against Armenia and Sweden.

Tottenham Hotspur striker Troy Parrott and Michael Obafemi of Southampton have also been named in an attack-minded 22-man squad.

The strikers were included, along with defender Nathan Collins, were named in the 40-man provisional senior squad earlier this month but will now link up with the under-21s.

UCD defender Liam Scales and Waterford winger Zack Elbouzedi bring the League of Ireland representation up for four, while Millwall’s on-loan Jayson Molumby looks set to be captain.

Ireland beat Luxembourg 3-0 in their first qualifier and will now face Armenia at home in Tallaght on Friday, September 6th before facing Sweden in Kalmar four days later.

There’s a first call-up for Millwall’s London-born defender Danny McNamara, who is currently on loan at Newport County, and Celtic’s Jonathan Afolabi.

Republic of Ireland U-21 Squad

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Manchester City)

Defenders: Danny McNamara (Newport County, on loan from Millwall), Lee O'Connor (Manchester United), Dara O'Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Conor Masterson (QPR), Darragh Leahy (Bohemians), Nathan Collins (Stoke City), Liam Scales (UCD AFC)

Centre Midfielders: Jayson Molumby (Millwall, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), Jason Knight (Derby County), Conor Coventry (West Ham United), Jake Doyle-Hayes (Cheltenham Town, on loan from Aston Villa).

Attacking Midfielders: Jack Taylor (Barnet), Dan Mandroiu (Bohemians), Gavin Kilkenny (AFC Bournemouth), Zack Elbouzedi (Waterford).

Forwards: Adam Idah (Norwich City), Jonathan Afolabi (Celtic), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Michael Obafemi (Southampton), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur).