Stephen Kenny names under-21 squad ahead of Toulon tournament

Tue, May 21 2019

UCD keeper Conor Kearns has been called up for the tournament by Stephen Kenny. Credit: David Ribeiro (ETPhotos)

Four League of Ireland clubs will be represented in Toulon this summer as Stephen Kenny named his 22-man squad for the 2019 Maurice Revello Tournament.

Conor Kearns, Neil Farrugia, Liam Scales (UCD AFC), Zach Elbouzedi, Aaron Drinan (Waterford FC) Darragh Leahy (Bohemians) and Jamie Lennon (St.Patrick’s Athletic) will all be part of the first Ireland team to play in the competition since 2002.

Lennon will aim to become the first player from St.Pat’s to feature for 30 years after the 1989 tournament included Pat Fenlon and Curtis Fleming.

Former Mervue United striker, Aaron Connolly and Cherry Orchard product, Tyreke Wilson will link up with the squad from Premier League clubs, Brighton and Manchester City. Galway man, Connolly was recently named as the best player in the Premier League 2 after scoring 11 goals in 15 games for the Seagulls u-23’s.

Some new faces to the under-21 set up include Sheffield United’s Stephen Mallon, who was out on loan at A-League team Central Coast Mariners last season, Brentford’s Canice Carroll, Jason Knight who was in the squad for Derby’s recent win at Leeds and a first ever Ireland call up for Barnet’s Jack Taylor.

The tournament kicks off on the 3rd of June with Kenny’s side playing all their group C games in the Provence area of France against the Olympic squads of Bahrain, China and Mexico who are preparing for Toyko 2020.

“We're extremely excited about going to the Toulon tournament and this is a fantastic opportunity for the players to express themselves in one of the most prestigious under-age international tournaments," said the recently appointed u-21 boss.


Republic of Ireland U-21 Squad 

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Conor Kearns (UCD AFC).

Defenders: Darragh Leahy (Bohemians), Conor Masterson (Liverpool), Dara O’Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Liam Scales (UCD AFC), Lee O’Connor (Manchester United), Tyreke Wilson (Manchester City), Canice Carroll (Brentford).

Midfielders: Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Conor Coventry (West Ham United), Jason Knight (Derby County), Connor Ronan (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Neil Farrugia (UCD AFC), Stephen Mallon (Sheffield United), Zach Elbouzedi (Waterford), Simon Power (Norwich City), Jack Taylor (Barnet), Jamie Lennon (St. Patrick’s Athletic).

Forwards: Adam Idah (Norwich City), Aaron Drinan (Ipswich Town, on loan at Waterford), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion).