#article   #derry-city  

Ryan McBride Soccer Sixes

Sun, May 05 2019

Ryan McBride Credit: Peter Fitzpatrick (ETPhotos)

Odhrán Crumley reports from the Ryan McBride Brandywell Stadium 

Czech Republic have claimed the second ever Ryan McBride Soccer Sixes beating holders Derry City 2-1 in the final. 

The Czech Republic and Derry City competed alongside Celtic and a PFAI Select in the four team tournament in memory of the late, great Derry City captain Ryan McBride. 

Derry City 1-0 Czech Republic 

In what would turn out to be a meeting of the eventual finalists. It would be the Candystripes that would take the first three points of the day courtesy of a Stephen O’Flynn strike. 

Celtic 0-2 PFAI Select 

The PFAI would inflict a first defeat of the day on The Celts. Gary McCabe opened the scoring with a fine solo goal before Daire Doyle sealed victory. 

Derry City 2-2 PFAI Select 

Bragging rights were shared in this All-Ireland contest as Fabio O’Brien shot the PFAI into the lead only for Gareth McGlynn to equalise from the very next attack. McGlynn and O’Brien would register two further strikes to ensure a share of the spoils. 

Celtic 0-2 Czech Republic 

The Czech’s started to find their groove thanks to goals from Radek Sirl and Roman Gibala to eliminate the Glasgow Giants. 

Czech Republic 5-2 PFAI Select 

It was the visiting team that inflicted a huge beating on the PFAI to effectively eliminate the select with David Lafata scoring four times. 

Derry City 6–3 Celtic 

Derry City needed a win to progress to the final and they did just that with Gary Beckett grabbing an all important brace. 

Final: Czech Republic 2-1 Derry City 

The trophy will be going home with the Czech Republic after David Zoubek hit a late winner to break Derry hearts and hope of a second title in a row. 


Celtic: Rab Douglas, Jackie McNamara, Tom Boyd, Alan Stubbs, Mark Wilson, Paddy McCourt, Simon Donnelly, Mark Burchill.

PFAI Select: Aaron Shanahan, Alan McNally, Conor Powell, Stephen O’Donnell, Daire Doyle, Gary McCabe, Joe Gamble, Joseph Ndo, Fabio O’Brien. 

Czech Republic: Marek Mojzis, Roman Gibala, Vaclav Kolousek, Radek Sirl, Lukas Harting, Roman Bednar, Martin Muller, David Lafata, David Zoubek.

Derry City: Dermot O’Neill, Eddie McCallion, Peter Hutton, Barry Molloy, Gareth McGlynn, Ruaidhri Higgins, Gary Beckett, Kevin Deery, Stephen O’Flynn.xx