All clubs awarded licences ahead of 2017 season

Tue, Feb 14 2017

None Credit: Michael P Ryan (ETPhotos)

It’s all systems go for the full complement of League of Ireland sides as all 20 clubs have secured licences for the 2017 SSE Airtricity League season.


For those of you who are unfamiliar with this process, a licensing system was introduced in Ireland in 2004 to ensure clubs participating in the league were maintaining certain standards. The licencing focuses on five main areas: infrastructure, legal, personnel, administrative and finance. If your interest has piqued – you can read the full 158 page club licensing manual here.


14 Premier Division and six First Division licences have been awarded for the upcoming season, a change from 2016 when 16 Premier and four First Division licences were issued. Athlone Town FC and Wexford Youths (now Wexford FC) had previously held a top tier licence.   


Bohemians, Bray Wanderers, Cork City, Derry City, Drogheda United, Dundalk, Finn Harps, Galway United, Limerick, Longford Town, Shamrock Rovers, Sligo Rovers, St. Patrick’s Athletic and Waterford all secured Premier Division licences.


Athlone Town, Cabinteely, Cobh Ramblers, Shelbourne, UCD and Wexford acquired a First Division licence.


Next up on the licencing front will be the awarding of UEFA licences to the clubs competing in European competition. These licences have been awarded in April in the last two years.


Clubs respond to club licence awarding on Twitter











Did you enjoy this article? If so, please consider becoming a patron of extratime.com for just €4 a month to help us cover running costs.