Eight WNL players included in Republic of Ireland Squad

by Paul Corcoran

Republic of Ireland Women’s National Team Manager Vera Pauw has announced her squad for the friendly double-header away to Iceland this month.

Eight Women’s National League players have been included with Shelbourne’s Saoirse Noonan included in Vera Pauw’s squad for the first time.

Noonan’s Shelbourne teammates Jamie Finn, Ciara Grant and Jessica Ziu have also been named in the squad.

Peamount United’s Aine O’Gorman and Claire Walsh will make the trip to Reykjavik, as will Cork City’s Éabha O’Mahony and DLR Waves’ Eve Badana.

This is the also the first time Ciara Grant and US based Roma McLaughlin have been called up since Pauw took charge.

Ireland will face Iceland on Friday, June, 11 (kick-off 6pm) and Tuesday, June, 15 (kick-off 6pm) with both games being shown on the RTE Player.

Republic of Ireland Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Grace Moloney (Reading), Courtney Brosnan (Unattached), Eve Badana (DLR Waves)

Defenders: Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Niamh Farrelly (Glasgow City), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (North Carolina Courage), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Éabha O’Mahony (Cork City), Áine O’Gorman (Peamount United)

Midfielders: Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciara Grant (Shelbourne), Roma McLaughlin (Connecticut Fusion), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Katie McCabe (Arsenal)

Forwards: Heather Payne (Florida State University), Rianna Jarrett (Unattached), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Saoirse Noonan (Shelbourne)