Competition: Euro 2016 Group D   Venue: Stade Bollaert-Delelis - Lens Agglo    Attendance: 32,836   Referee: William Collum (SCO)
Czech Republic
Czech Republic

Jaroslav Plasil - Yellow Card (36')

David Pavelka - Yellow Card (39')

Josef Sural - Yellow Card (87')

Tue 21 Jun 2016

0 - 2

(Full Time)

Burak Yilmaz - Goal (10')

Ismail Koybasi - Yellow Card (35')

Hakan Kadir Balta - Yellow Card (50')

Ozan Tufan - Goal (65')

Starting Lineup
(G) Petr Cech
(D) Roman Hubnik
(D) Pavel Kaderabek
(D) Daniel Pudil
(D) Tomas Sivok
(M) Vladimir Darida
(M) David Pavelka
(M) Jaroslav Plasil
(F) Borek Dockal
(F) Ladislav Krejci
(F) Tomas Necid
Theodor Gebre Selassie
Michal Kadlec
Daniel Kolar
Tomás Koubek
David Lafata
David Limbersky
Tomas Rosicky
Jirí Skalák
Milan Skoda
Marek Suchy
Josef Sural
Tomás Vaclík

Euro 2016 Report: Czech Republic 0 - 2 Turkey
Published: June 24, 2016
These Turkish fans are going home, along with their Czech Republic counterparts.  (Credit: Al Robinson)

The Czech Republic fell to a defeat that ultimately cost them a place in the knock-out phase of Euro 2016 as Turkey ran out 2-0 winners in Lens – but that wasn't enough for the Turks either as they too missed out on the last-16.
A win here would have left the Czechs with four points and a third place finish in Group D, enough to see them qualify for the next round. Instead, goals from Burak Yilmaz and Ozan Tufan gave Fatih Terim's men a first win at the tournament. It also gave them a sliver of hope that they themselves might sneak into the last-16 as one of the best third-placed teams. 
However, their -2 goal-difference – damage which was mostly done in the lethargic 3-0 defeat to Spain, during which skipper Arda Turan sarcastically applauded his own fans – proved to be their undoing. Northern Ireland and Portugal nipped in ahead of them, despite the latter drawing all three of their group games.
Yilmaz got his side off to an excellent start when he opened the scoring after ten minutes. It was his 21st international goal and moved him to joint-third on Turkey's all-time goalscorer list. At 30, Hakan Sukur's 51 goal tally may be beyond him, but he should surpass Tuncay Sanli (who has 22 goals) to become Turkey's second all-time top scorer.
Yet that strike could, and perhaps should, have been cancelled out in the 16th minute, but Tomas Sivok hit the base of the post with a header. Turkey had been warned about Sivok's aerial prowess when he scored against them in qualifying in Istanbul, but they got off lucky here as a goal then could have changed the entire game.
It really could have been so different for the Czechs, who had the upper-hand coming into the game, with one point in the bag and a seemingly more harmonious environment given the nature of the Turks' capitulation to Spain. Tomas Necid saw a chance go wide after 24 minutes and Jaroslav Plasil forced Volkan Babacan into a save just before half-time.
However, Czech chances were surprisingly limited and it would be the Turks who got the next goal of the game in the 65th minute. Tufan latched onto Mehmet Topal's ball into the box and fired through a crowd of bodies to beat Cech at his near-post. At that point, despite their best efforts, there was no coming back for Pavel Vrba's men.
A particular bright spot for Turkey was the performance of Emre Mor. The 18 year old winger only made his national team debut in May during the build-up to this tournament and was influential in his first international start, creating Yilmaz's opening goal as well as some other chances. He has agreed to join Borussia Dortmund next season and will be one to watch.
Czech Republic: Petr Cech; Pavel Kaderabek, Roman Hubnik, Tomas Sivok, Daniel Pudil; Borek Dockal (Josef Sural, 71), David Pavelka (Milan Skoda, 57), Vladimir Darida, Jaroslav Plasil (Daniel Kolar, 90), Ladislav Krejci; Tomas Necid.
Subs not used: Tomás Koubek (GK), Tomás Vaclík (GK), Michal Kadlec, Theodor Gebre Selassie, Marek Suchy, David Limbersky, Tomas Rosicky, Jirí Skalák, David Lafata.
Bookings: J Plasil (36), D Pavelka (39), Sural (87).
Turkey: Volkan Babacan; Gokhan Gonul, Mehmet Topal, Hakan Balta, Ismahil Koybasi; Emre Mor (Olcay Sahan, 69), Ozan Tufan, Selcuk Inan, Volkan Sen (Oguzhan Ozyakub, 61); Arda Turan; Burak Yilmaz (Cenk Tosun, 90).
Subs Not Used: Onur Kivrak (GK), Harun Tekin (GK), Semih Kaya, Ahmet Calik, Sener Ozbayrakli, Caner Erkin, Yunus Maili, Nuri Sahin, Hakan Calhanoglu.
Bookings: I Koybasi (35), H Balta (50).
Referee: William Collum (SCO).
Attendance: 35,000.
Extratime Man of the Match: Emre Mor (Turkey).
Fran Reilly

Fran Reilly joined in February 2015 having previously written for the Drogheda/Fingal Independents, and the Cork City matchday programme. Though only part of the ET family for a relatively short time, the Donaghmede native has already had the opportunity to cover League of Ireland clubs both domestically and in Europe, as well as Republic of Ireland internationals. He can count Martin O'Neill, Roy Keane and Dutch footballing legend Ruud Gullit amongst those he has come face-to-face with during his line of ET work. He still hopes to someday meet Henrik Larsson. <br /><br /> Fran was once sent to watch Lionel Messi play in the Aviva Stadium for Barcelona but left feeling underwhelmed as his performance fell some way short of replicating Wes Hoolahan's against Deportivo la Coruna in August 2004. That famous night was enough to make Fran a Shels fan and he even pulled on the red shirt himself once for Owen Heary's tribute match in November 2013. Hilariously, he saw a penalty saved by unforgiving goalkeeper Lee Murphy, then at Bohemians. <br /><br /> His one day spell as a member of the Extratime media six-a-side panel fared no better, his status as a reporter coming under threat following a string of less than inspirational performances. However, he convinced the ET hierarchy to persevere with him so he lingers on, covering whatever clubs he can reach by public transport. You can follow Fran on Twitter (@FranTomReilly) where he spends most of his time retweeting other people's LOI views and news and claiming them as his own. <br /><br />

Starting Lineup
(G) Volkan Babacan
(D) Gokhan Gonul
(D) Hakan Kadir Balta
(D) Ismail Koybasi
(D) Sener Ozbayrakli
(D) Mehmet Topal
(M) Selcuk Inan
(M) Emre Mor
(M) Volkan Sen
(M) Ozan Tufan
(M) Arda Turan
(F) Burak Yilmaz
Hakan Calhanoglu
Ahmet Calik
Caner Erkin
Semih Kaya
Onur Kivrak
Yunus Malli
Oguzhan Ozyakup
Olcay Sahan
Nuri Sahin
Harun Tekin
Cenk Tosun