Competition: 2014 FIFA World Cup Group F    Venue: Arena da Baixada, Curitiba    Attendance: 39,081   Referee: Carlos Vera (Ecuador)

Andranik Teymourian - Yellow Card (75')

Mon 16 Jun 2014

0 - 0

(Full Time)

Starting Lineup
(G) Alireza Haghighi
(D) Amir Hossein Sadeqi
(D) Jalal Hosseini
(D) Pejman Montazeri
(D) Mehrdad Pouladi
(M) Ehsan Hajsafi
(M) Javad Nekounam
(M) Andranik Teymourian
(F) Ashkan Dejagah
(F) Reza Ghoochannejhad
(F) Khosro Heidari
Rahman Ahmadi
Ahmad Alenemeh
Karim Ansarifard
Steven Beitashour
Hashem Beykzadeh
Daniel Davari
Ghasem Hadadifar
Reza Haghighi
Alireza Jahanbakhsh
Hossein Mahini
Bakhtiar Rahmani
Masoud Shojaei

World Cup 2014 - Iran 0-0 Nigeria
Published: June 16, 2014

Nigeria and Iran played out the first draw and also the first scoreless draw of this year's World Cup Finals. It was a game that will certainly not have managed to catch the imagination of the public as boos greeted the full time whistle in the Arena de Baixada.


The 2014 World Cup has been one of the best in recent memory however there was always bound to be a poor spell of football on the horizon. That was unfortunately what greeted viewers on Monday evening during the first half of Iran and Nigeria.


Nigeria lost centre back Godfey Oboadbona to injury before the half hour mark but with Joseph Yobo coming on as his replacement the unplanned for early change did not cause manager Stephen Keshi much concern.


The opening 35 minutes or so yielded almost no goal bound action. Nigeria controlled possession in the early phases but it was Iran who had one of the half's better chances as Ashkan Dejageh connected well with a corner kick to force Vincent Enjeama into a solid save in the Nigerian save


With the first few minutes of the second half still not igniting the Nigerian strike force into action a change was made as Shola Ameobi made his World Cup entrance in place of Victor Moses.


Iran did on occasion get into promising positions in the second half but the end delivery into the box was always just not up to standard. The more fancied Nigeria on the other hand were proving to be a real disappointment as their long ball tactics and poor crosses meant they were also no closer to finding an opener.


As the last ten minutes of the game beckoned Iran seemed to be growing in confidence as it appeared the minnows could possibly cause a shock at this World Cup Finals. Andraik Teymourian brought his country's excitable fans to their feet with his effort from outside the box that whizzed wide.


In the final few minutes it appeared more and more likely that we were heading to not only the first draw of this years World Cup but also the first scoreless draw of the tournament so far. Ameobi got a header on target late on but apart from that neither side's keeper was forced to work too hard in what was a desperately poor game.



Iran: Alireza Haghighi, Amir Hossein Sadiqi, Jalal Hosseeini, Pejman Montazeri, Mehrdad Pouladi; Ehsan Hajsafi, Javad Nekounam, Andraik Teymourian; Ashkan Dejagh (Hashem Beykzadeh 78), Reza Ghoochannejhad, Khosro Heydari (Masoud Shojaei 89).
Subs Not Used: Rahman Ahmadi, Ahmad Alenemeh, Karim Ansarifard, Steven Beitashour, Daniel Davari, Ghasem Hadadifar, Reza Haghighi, Alireza Jahanbakshs, Hossein Mahini, Bakhtiar Rahmani

Booked: Andraik Teymourian (75)


Nigeria: Vincent Enjeama, Efe Ambrose, Godfrey Oboabona (Joseph Yobo 29), Kenneth Omeruo, Juwon Oshaniwa; Ramon Azeez (Peter Odemwingie 69), John Obi Mikel, Ogenyi Onazi; Ennabuel Emenike, Victor Moses (Shola Ameobi 52) , Ahmed Musa.
Subs Not Used: Chigozie Agbim, Michel Babatunde, Azubuike Egwuekwe, Austin Ejide, Reuben Gabriel, Uche Nwofor, Kunle Odunlami, Michael Uchebo, Ejike Uzoenyi

Booked: None


Referee: Carlos Vera (Ecuador)

Attendance: 39,084 Man Of The Match: Shola Ameobi (Nigeria) - No one deserved it but Ameobi had the best of the chances after coming on.



Gareth O'Reilly

Gareth is the Editor of Gareth began as a normal reporter covering games all over Dublin before being asked to help out with behind the scene activities and eventually moving into the role of Editor prior to the start of the 2016 season. Some have said this was a seemless transition taking over from our owner and chief who shares the same great name. <br /><br /> Gareth has covered many games both male and female and even has experience covering underage tournaments such as the Galway Cup. Gareth has also attended many high profile internationals such as Ireland's famous win over Germany back in 2015. Where were you when Shane Long put the ball in the Germans net? <br /><br /> Gareth also had the pleasure of being part of the Extratime Team that traveled to France in the summer of 2016 to cover the European Championships. A truly memorable experience. <br /><br /> Today, Gareth isn't seen in as many press boxes as he once was as his time is mostly spent locked in a dark room also known as Extratime HQ where he busily runs the madness that is Extratime's Friday nights operation. He will also upload many articles throughout the week while also dealing with the PRO's of League of Ireland clubs on a daily basis. Ongoing recruitment is also high on Gareth's list of roles and if you are interested in getting involved don't forget to e-mail him at

Starting Lineup
(G) Vincent Enyeama
(D) Efe Ambrose
(D) Godfrey Oboabona
(D) Kenneth Omeruo
(D) Juwon Oshaniwa
(M) Ramon Azeez
(M) John Obi Mikel
(M) Ogenyi Onazi
(F) Emmanuel Emenike
(F) Victor Moses
(F) Ahmed Musa
Chigozie Agbim
Shola Ameobi
Michel Babatunde
Azubuike Egwuekwe
Austin Ejide
Reuben Gabriel
Uche Nwofor
Peter Odemwingie
Kunle Odunlami
Michael Uchebo
Ejike Uzoenyi
Joseph Yobo